Skip to main content
Northwestern University

Congratulations to Three Segal Research Council Members

Segal is excited to congratulate three of its Research Council members on their prestigious accomplishments!

Professors Ed Colgate and Michael Peshkin are among 20 entrepreneurs entering the Chicago Area Entrepreneurship Hall of Fame’s 2015 class.

Through their collaboration, Colgate and Peshkin have launched three startups while researching robotics and human-machine interaction here at McCormick. One of Colgate and Peshkin’s latest successes is a surface technology they created that allows users to feel what they see on a touchscreen.

Colgate served as Segal’s director from its creation in 2007 until 2011 and currently acts as EDI’s director. Colgate and Peshkin both teach mechanical engineering at McCormick and both serve as Segal Research Council members.

In addition to this huge honor, we’re thrilled to congratulate Dr. Liz Gerber for receiving the Wells Fargo Foundation’s Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award. The Beckman Award is awarded to teachers who have inspired their students to make a significant contribution to society.

Congratulations to all three – we’re so proud!

Read more about Colgate and Peshkin’s recognition.

Learn more about the Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award

Back to top