Skip to main content
Northwestern University

Three Segal faculty awarded for their hard work

Segal is ecstatic to congratulate three of its faculty members on three tremendous accomplishments!

Congratulations to Segal Co-Director Bruce Ankenman for his much-deserved promotion to full professor. In addition to being Segal’s co-director, Bruce is also co-director of the DTC program. Bruce directs education programs that focus on the full design process with special attention to meeting human needs with technology. The Segal community applauds Bruce on his success.

We’re also excited to announce that Dr. Liz Gerber was awarded tenure. Dr. Gerber conducts research on social computing and innovation, co-directs the Delta Lab and teaches MS and PhD level courses for Segal. Additionally, Dr. Gerber is a Breed Junior Chair of Design at Northwestern and a faculty founder of Design for America. We’re very fortunate to have such a wonderful member on our team.

Last but certainly not least, we’re ecstatic to congratulate Walter Herbst on receiving the Charles Deering McCormick University Distinguished Clinical Professor award. This prestigious award recognizes professors’ outstanding dedication to undergraduate education at Northwestern. Walter is a clinical professor of mechanical engineering at McCormick and is the director of Segal’s MPD Program. We’re so proud of all of the wonderful work Walter has done at Segal.

It’s apparent that we strive for greatness at Segal. Our students, faculty, staff and entire community pride themselves on putting forth their greatest effort. Each member of our Segal community is committed to contributing not only to Northwestern, but also to society as a whole; to making his or her mark on the world. We could not be prouder of our hardworking faculty members. Congratulations to all! 

Back to top